Tuesday, January 09, 2007

Boise State National Champions!

I am here this evening to declare that Boise State is the third team to have won the national Be Our Best (B.O.B.) college football champioship 2006.

Boise State was one of four teams that were invited to play January 1, with the winners returning on January 8 to play for the national B.O.B. championship. The proposed matchups were to be Florida vs Ohio State and Michigan vs Boise State. However, since all four schools decined the invitation, the national champion was declared by a private vote of the BOB panelists, which consists of college football enthusiasts.

When asked about the contriversial choice, B.O.B. founder and panelist Bob Aagard had this to say: "When it comes right down to it, Boise State had the best record. Unlike the other polls, we take into consideration the teams' records, and we don't discriminate based on region or conference. Boise was a unanimous winner."

In 2004, USC narrowly defeated the University of Utah for the title. The University of Texas won the trophy in 2005.


No comments: