Tuesday, January 29, 2008

HB 139 bad for residents, business

One of my favorite companies around is XMission. And it has nothing to do with the fact that the founder of XMission is US Senate candidate Pete Ashdown.

I have never been a paying customer of XMission. However, I have used their free wireless internet numerous times at the Salt Lake City Library, Gallavan Plaza, and other locations where I have attended political events. XMission provides this access in public places free of charge to taxpayers.

And the thanks they get?

House Bill 139, sponsored by Rep. Bradley M. Daw. (R-Orem)

What does HB139 do?

*makes it a violation of Title 13, Chapter 11, Utah Consumer Sales Practices Act, to sell a device capable of wirelessly accessing the Internet without labeling the device to reflect that fact;
*defines terms;
*requires a person maintaining a public wireless network to attempt to restrict access to a minor;
*provides for a civil penalty against a person who does not restrict access to a puublic wireless network if a minor accesses material harmful to minors through that network; and
*provides for enforcement by the Division of Consumer Protection.


If bolded the most glaring part of the bill. It will require the use of either checking a picture ID or a credit card. However, kids can easily get their hands on a Visa gift card that works like a "real" credit card just by waling into a WalMart or Albertsons and buying one.

This is an example of the government getting involved where parents should be involved. If you really think that your child would use a public WiFi point to access porn, than you really need to concentrate on your parenting. Not to mention buying your kid a PSP, iPod Touch or laptop may not be the best idea.

I encourage all of you to email not only your representative, but also the entire House Public Utilities and Technology Committee, where HB 139 currently sits.


Rep. Michael E. Noel, Chair mnoel@kanab.net
Rep. Aaron Tilton, Vice Chair atilton@utah.gov
Rep. Jim Bird jbird@utah.gov
Rep. Melvin R. Brown melbrown@utah.gov
Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck rchouck@utah.gov
Rep. Janice M. Fisher jfisher@utah.gov
Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway lhemingway@utah.gov
Rep. Fred R Hunsaker fhunsaker@utah.gov
Rep. Steven R. Mascaro steven_mascaro@comcast.net
Rep. Kay L. McIff kaymciff@utah.gov
Rep. Bradley A. Winn bwinn@utah.gov

I'll be watching this bill and keeping you up to date on it.

-Bob

2 comments:

alisonwonderland said...

If you really think that your child would use a public WiFi point to access porn, than you really need to concentrate on your parenting. Not to mention buying your kid a PSP, iPod Touch or laptop may not be the best idea.

i hope you don't mind, but i'll be using that statement tomorrow to argue against Utah PTA's support of this bill. parental involvement - in all aspects of our children's lives - is what we need, not stupid laws!

The Poyfairs said...

Actually, President Hinkley did say that. He was joking as well. Also coming from a Mormon, I think President Hinkley was laughing up in Heaven, given his refined sense of humor (illustrated in the comment about the writers- which he actually did make.

On a side note, who can I vote for now? Wah. Sorry . . . I am a conservative, although I still love you lefties.