Wednesday, December 03, 2008

Carl Wimmer Confuses First Presidency, 12 Apostles

I'll be writing a post on the passing of Elder Wirthlin shortly. However, I thought this exchange on Facebook was too perfect:

(Click image to enlarge)


The Church is led by 15 apostles. The most senior apostle is the president of the Church, and he selects two other apostles as counselors. These three function as the First Presidency, which is the highest governing body of the Church. Twelve others form the Quorum of the Twelve — the second-highest governing body of the Church. Together, the First Presidency and the Twelve oversee the entire Church. Church members trace this organizational structure to the New Testament

The members of the First Presidency are Thomas S Monson, Henry B. Eyring, and Dieter F. Uchtdorf.

Elder Wirthlin was 6th most-senior member of the Quorum of the Twelve.



Anonymous said...

During the last interim, Wimmer's socks didn't match (one was slightly darker than the other).

Surprised you didn't blog about that.


Bob said...

Wearing slightly mismatched socks is not a big deal. In fact, the current pair of socks I have on have that same problem.

However, it is a big deal that someone who wears his religion on his sleeve during a campaign will miss something major like who is in the main governing body of said religion.

JHP said...

Come on Bob, seriously, give the guy a break. May the first person who has never quickly typed something incorrectly cast the first stone. We all do it all the time in e-mails, comments on blogs, and elsewhere.

Bob said...

I can't say I've never misspoke, but that is not a small thing.

Besides, it's all in good fun.